Keynote Speakers & Panelists

Plenary Keynote Speakers

Dr. Deborah Agarwal

  • Scientific Data Division Director, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
  • Senior Scientist, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
  • Research Affiliate, Berkeley Institute for Data Science, University of California, Berkeley

Dr. Deborah Agarwal is a Senior Scientist and Division Director for the Scientific Data Division, at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL). The Scientific Data Division (SciData) transforms data-driven discovery and understanding through the development and application of novel data science methods, technologies, and infrastructures with scientific partners. Dr. Agarwal’s current research focuses on developing computational tools to enable scientists to organize and use Earth Science data to address challenges more effectively. She has worked on projects involving carbon flux, watershed understanding, tropical forests, soil carbon, carbon capture, cosmology, particle accelerators, data repositories, and satellite data. She is also active in efforts to broaden diversity in computing research and a member of the Computing Research Association Committee on Widening Participation.

Dr. Manish Gupta

  • Director, Google Research India

Dr. Manish Gupta is the Director of Google Research India. He holds an additional appointment as Infosys Foundation Chair Professor at IIIT Bangalore. Previously, Manish has led VideoKen, a video technology startup, and the research centers for Xerox and IBM in India. As a Senior Manager at the IBM T.J. Watson Research Center in Yorktown Heights, New York, Manish led the team developing system software for the Blue Gene/L supercomputer. IBM was awarded a National Medal of Technology and Innovation for Blue Gene by US President Barack Obama in 2009. Manish holds a Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign. He has co-authored about 75 papers, with more than 7,000 citations in Google Scholar (and an h-index of 46), and has been granted 19 US patents. While at IBM, Manish received two Outstanding Technical Achievement Awards, an Outstanding Innovation Award and the Lou Gerstner Team Award for Client Excellence. Manish is a Fellow of ACM and the Indian National Academy of Engineering, and a recipient of a Distinguished Alumnus Award from IIT Delhi.

Dr. Bingsheng He

  • Professor and Vice-Dean (Research), School of Computing, National University of Singapore

Dr. Bingsheng He is currently a Professor and Vice-Dean (Research) at School of Computing, National University of Singapore. Before that, he was a faculty member in Nanyang Technological University, Singapore (2010-2016), and held a research position in the System Research group of Microsoft Research Asia (2008-2010), where his major research was building high performance cloud computing systems for Microsoft. He got the Bachelor degree in Shanghai Jiao Tong University (1999-2003), and the Ph.D. degree in Hong Kong University of Science & Technology (2003-2008). His current research interests include cloud computing, database systems and high performance computing. He has been a winner for industry faculty awards from Microsoft/NVIDIA/Xilinx/Alibaba. His work also won multiple recognitions as “Best papers” collection or awards in top forums such as SIGMOD 2008, VLDB 2013 (demo), IEEE/ACM ICCAD 2017, PACT 2018, IEEE TPDS 2019, and FPGA 2021. Since 2010, he has (co-)chaired a number of international conferences and workshops, including IEEE CloudCom 2014/2015, BigData Congress 2018 and ICDCS 2020. He has served in editor board of international journals, including IEEE Transactions on Cloud Computing (IEEE TCC), IEEE Transactions on Parallel and Distributed Systems (IEEE TPDS), IEEE Transactions on Knowledge and Data Engineering (TKDE), Springer Journal of Distributed and Parallel Databases (DAPD) and ACM Computing Surveys (CSUR). He is an ACM Distinguished member (class of 2020).

Dr. Eyal de Lara

  • Professor and Chair, Department of Computer Science, University of Toronto

Prof. Eyal De Lara was awarded his PhD in Electrical and Computer Engineering from Rice University in 2002. Upon graduation, he joined the University of Toronto as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Computer Science. In 2007, he was awarded tenure and promoted to Associate Professor. In 2015, he was promoted to the rank of Professor. He currently serves as the Chair of the department. Professor de Lara’s research lies in the areas of cloud and mobile computing where he has contributed novel algorithms for system virtualization, edge computing, application scaling, indoor localization, mobile security, and continuous mobile sensing. Professor de Lara’s research has had a significant impact in both academia and industry. His research on VM fork, a new cloud computing abstraction, was commercialized by GridCentric, a Toronto based start-up that was acquired by Google. Professor de Lara’s work has been recognized with the EuroSys Test of Time Award, the CACS/AIC Outstanding Young Computer Science Researcher Prize, an NSERC Discovery Accelerator Award, Faculty Awards from IBM and VMware, as well as 3 best paper awards and 2 best paper honorable mentions. Professor de Lara has served as the editor in chief of GetMobile, the flagship publication of ACM SIGMOBILE, and has co-chaired the technical program committees of several conferences including ACM MobiSys and ACM/IEEE SEC, which are respectively the top venues in mobile systems and edge computing. His contributions to the mobile research community have been recognized with the 2020 SIGMOBILE Distinguished Service Award. 

And more coming…


© Copyright CCGRID 2023
All Rights Reserved


We, as the CCGrid community, are committed, both individually and collectively, to nurturing diversity and inclusion, sustaining a climate of mutual respect, and fostering a collaborative and supportive environment wherein everyone is empowered to succeed.

Authors and participants are encouraged to read the ACM Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct and the ACM Policy Against Harassment, and IEEE Computer Society's expectation of professional behavior found in the IEEE Computer Society Open Conference Statement, the IEEE Event Conduct and Safety Statement, and the IEEE Code of Ethics.